day two

My fingers feel so unfamiliar with these keys as I begin typing for the first time in months.But, I’ve had a thought on my heart for a while now, and today, the day before Easter, is a good day to share it.

I’ve been working on being still. Not letting my hopes and dreams get too far in front of me that when I reach for them I lose my balance here in the present. I fail and fall quite a bit, but I’m making progress. Baby steps.

IMG_9291.JPG

Yesterday was Good Friday, the anniversary of the death of our Jesus. On Friday we say, “Sunday is coming!” and we celebrate the implications of the sacrifice he made on that day. On Sunday we celebrate and rejoice in his resurrection because death could not hold him and sin has been defeated. This is incredible.

But today is Saturday. Not Friday, nor Sunday. It’s day two of three and why is this significant?

IMG_9038.JPG

I don’t think Jesus needed three days. I think he could’ve probably solved the issue of sin in a few seconds if he wanted to. No, I don’t think he even needed a full 24 hours. So, why three days? Why wait till Sunday?

I think maybe the three days were for us because we needed Saturday.

“You quieted the raging oceans with their pounding waves and silenced the shouting of the nations.”

There’s something about silence that the Lord loves. Something about stillness and quiet that resonates with his character. Time after time he says to slow down, still our hearts, and listen for him in the quiet.

I think of what that Saturday might’ve been like, 2,000 years ago. I think of how it might’ve sounded like the eery calm after a thunderstorm or the soft crashing waves just before daybreak. I think of the void so unmistakable in that town among Jesus’s followers that would’ve left them speechless and numb. I think of the soft cries and tears rolling down cheeks as they began to get used to their “new normal”. I think of them burying themselves deep in the memories of when Jesus was living and asking themselves, “What else could I have done?”

IMG_9195

I think Saturday served a very significant purpose. I think Saturday stilled them just long enough for them to realize who they had lost and what that truly meant. I think Saturday was the day they reevaluated everything. I think Saturday was the day they understood Jesus had been telling the truth.

“You soften the earth with showers and bless its abundant crops. You crown the year with a bountiful harvest; even the hard pathways overflow with abundance.”

I think hearts were softened on Saturday and seeds began growing. I think the stillness of a day of mourning ultimately brought more joy in the resurrection than what might’ve resulted had Jesus not taken three days.

In my own life, I need to have more Saturdays. More times when I still myself and reevaluate and realize what’s going on right now. Moments where I stop and look at the faces around me and ask, “What more can I do for you, Jesus?” I need to remember the miracles and reminisce the struggles so I can never forget who Jesus was, is, and is to come.

I don’t think Saturday was an accident. I think it was intentional. And I think our Saturdays should be intentional too.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

