eyes wide open

They’ve suggested taking Benadryl as soon as I get on the plane, in case I experience nausea, headaches, ear-popping, or some other “I’ve-never-flown-before” side effect. 

Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.” 




My stomach’s flipping like a gymnast and my thoughts are all over the place trying to imagine what it will be like, who I will meet, how the Lord will use me in another country.

I look at the highschool girls on Monday nights and hear their prayer needs and personal concerns: grades are failing, temptations rising, independence is surfacing and adulthood is just over the hill. 



Just take a Benadryl.

How easy it would be to sleep through all the unpleasant things. All the things unknown and uncovered. We would bypass the nausea, the headaches, the ear-popping. 



But, in your sleeping, what if you miss the free peanuts the plane hostess brings to your row? 

What if you miss the sunset or sunrise or lone cloud  claiming the horizon of some country you’ve never seen before?

What if you miss the hurting one in the seat behind you, stifling sobs and shaking shoulders?





Don’t close your eyes. 

Don’t ignore the hardships and struggles and frustrations.

Don’t keep your head in the sand forever because you can’t breathe down there, my friend.  





But I get it, I do. It’s scary. I’ve never flown before. 

I haven’t seen tomorrow’s blueprints and I don’t know what’s waiting for me when my eyes open to morning light coming through my window. 

But don’t be afraid. We have One who fights for us. All he asks is that we stay still, stand firm, and keep our eyes wide open. 

You will see deliverance.  

p.s. – the next time I write, I’ll have come back from my trip to Nicaragua! I can’t wait to share testimonies and stories and adventures with you. I appreciate prayers for our team. Thank you to all who gave, prayed, and supported. 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “eyes wide open

  1. Reblogged this on Japan Day and commented:
    Dakara…kawaiidesu

  2. percetakan rawamangun

    nice post, to help us all
    thank you

Leave a Reply

